ICSMA 19 in Metz, France, 2021

The19th International Conference on Strenght of Materials

June 27 - July 2, 2021

Organized by the Laboratory of Excellence 'DAMAS' (Design of Alloy Metals for low-mAss Structures) of the Université de Lorraine and CNRS.


ICSMA 19 is part of a traditional conference series organized every third year since 1967, so more than 50 years. It provides a comprehensive coverage on the research progress in the field of material strength. ICSMA is forging the interface between the mechanics and materials science communities by uniting the research forces to improve material performance. This conference is an international forum for exchanging on material strength of all engineering materials; from solid to bio-materials, from nanoscale to real size structures. The latest achievements obtained in experiments, characterization, simulation and modeling, as well as new applications for technology transfer will be presented and discussed. The Laboratory of Excellence “DAMAS” (Design of Alloy Metals for low-mAss Structures) of the Université de Lorraine and CNRS is in charge of the organization. The conference will be held in Metz, a thrilling city of France, where art and science is living in harmony since two thousand years.


  • Laszlo S. Toth Chairman (Pr-LEM31)
  • Sabine Denis Co-Chairwoman (Pr-IJL2)
  • Mikhail Lebyodkin Co-Chairman (DR-CNRS-LEM31)

Alain Jacques (Pr-IJL), Stéphane Berbenni (DR-CNRS-LEM3), Sébastien Allain (DR-CNRS-IJL), Thierry Grosdidier (Pr-LEM3), Hamid Zahrouni (Pr-LEM3), Jean-François Ganghoffer (Pr-LEM3), Sébastien Mercier (Pr-LEM3), Olivier Bouaziz (Pr-LEM3), Thomas Schenk (McF-IJL), Yudong Zhang (Research Ing. Hab.-LEM3), Guillaume Geandier (McF-IJL), Mahdia Hattab (Pr-LEM3), Jean-Jacques Fundenberger (McF-LEM3), Benoît Beausir (McF-LEM3), Lionel Germain (McF-LEM3), Roxane Massion (McF-LEM3), Nathalie Gey (CR-CNRS-LEM3), Thiebaud Richeton (CR-CNRS-LEM3), Nathalie Kasprzak (Internet Site LEM3), Nathalie Niclas (Secretary LEM3), Jacqueline Decker (Secretary LEM3), Sylvie Niquet (Payment, UL) and many doctoral students.

LEM3: Laboratoire d’Etude des Microstructures et de Mécanique des Matériaux, Université de Lorraine, CNRS, Arts et Métiers ParisTech, LEM3, Metz, France ; www.lem3.univ-lorraine.fr

IJL: Institut Jean Lamour, Université de Lorraine, CNRS, Nancy, France ; ijl.univ-lorraine.fr/en

Contact: icsma2021-local-committee

Supporting National Organizations

  • AFM, Association Française de Mécanique
  • SF2M, Société Française Métallurgie Matériaux
  • MECAMAT, Groupe Français de Mécanique des Matériaux
  • CEA, Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives, France

Supporting funds will be asked from:
Lorraine University, Région Grand-Est, Metz-Metropôle, Labex DAMAS, AFM, SF2M, LEM3, IJL, MECAMAT, CEA, Industrial Stands will be organized.

An Advisory European Committee will be also formed, constituted from leading scientists of Germany, Spain, Belgium, Holland, England, Poland, Italy, Switzerland, Norway, Sweden, Austria, Greece.

An International Scientific Committee will be formed, constituted from the mechanics of materials experts of all continents.

ICSMA19 will be under the supervision of the ICSMA International Scientific Committee for all strategic issues of the conference. 

List of actual members of the ICSMA International Scientific Committee

  • Angus J. Wilkinson, UK - Chair
  • Michael Mills, USA - Vice Chair
  • Irene Beyerlein, USA
  • Andrea Hodge, USA
  • Easo George, USA
  • Peter Anderson, USA
  • Chris Hutchinson, Australia
  • Martin Heilmeier, Germany
  • Werner Skrotzki, Germany
  • Guenther Eggeler, Germany
  • Marc Legros, France
  • Reinhard Pippan, Austria
  • Nabuhiro Tsuji, Japan
  • Satyam Suwas, India
  • Maria-Teresa Perez-Prado, Spain
  • Cathy Rae, UK
  • David Wilkinson, Canada
  • Bill Curtin, Switzerland
  • Lei Lu, China

Importante Dates


Registration: possible now

Abstract submission: before January 1st, 2021

Payment of registration fee:
  Early fee: on or before March 1, 2021 
  Regular fee: between March 1 - April 15, 2021
  Late fee: after April 15, 2021

Conference: June 27 - July 2, 2021

More information...








Supporting National Organizations





Online user: 1